At the end of each term, we collect the best work of IEI writing students in The Globe. Over the next several days, we’ll feature a paragraph, essay, or research paper from each of the six levels here on the blog. Today, we start with work from this term’s level one, two, and three students. Check out the entire January/February issue of The Globe to see writing from all of our students.

Weekend Plans

By Nada Alzahrani, Saudi Arabia, Writing 1

On the weekend, I and my friends are going to go to the park. Each one of us is going to bring with us anything, like tea, candy, or coffee. We are going to make BBQ. My husband likes to make BBQ. We are going to make rice and play with the children. After that, we are going to go to Wal-Mart and buy milk, tomatoes, and water. After that, I am going to go my house, take a shower, clean my home, and sleep.

Important Moments in My Life

By Yury Margarita Amaya, El Salvador, Writing 2

I have three important moments in my life. The first was when I saw my husband the first time. I was 19 years old. I always say, he came in the right moment exactly. Before we got married, we talked on the phone for six months, and then he asked me, “I want you to be my girlfriend.” Then we got married, and came a moment I will always remember: my first baby, a boy. When I saw his face, I felt I didn’t need anything more. I was the happiest woman in the world. My son always remembers what’s important in life and gives thanks to God. After years, I got pregnant again. I had a girl. She is daddy’s baby girl. She is full of love, always very happy in the house. My kids are my life, I can’t have any problem but only see them and don’t care about anything else. Every day I say to my God, “Thank you for everything.” We are a small family because we are happy. We are not a perfect family; they are always problems, but we look for a solution and the most important thing is we have love. They accept my defects. It is not necessary to be rich to be happy. I have a healthy family; my kids are well, and my husband, too.

My Most Prized Possession

By Quingzhi Lou, China, Writing 3

This is a true story. My most prized possessions are my friends. Everybody wants to have friends. Friends can make anybody happy. If you ask me who is this friend, I can tell you. I’ve known him since I was a child. He is a really nice guy. We help one another if we need help.

During my childhood, I did not think he was a smart guy. I also thought that he was helpful to people in order to get something in return. I was wrong. He really wasn’t like that. He really is a good and generous guy.

