As we end the March-April term, we celebrate our students’ accomplishments. The Globe features IEI writing students’ best work from the last two months. Download the entire issue, or check out our favorite paragraphs, essays, and research papers on the blog this week.

Today, Yazeed from Saudi Arabia describes the city of Jeddah. Then, Sulma from El Salvador explains the process of fishing. Enjoy!


My City

By Yazeed

My home city is Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. It is in West Saudi Arabia. Riyadh is bigger than Jeddah. Jeddah is on the beach.

In Jeddah, there is the Prince Abdulaziz Bin Fhad Building. There are horses in stables and there are many palm trees. In my city right now, it is 11:00 p.m. on Thursday. My mother is watching TV, and my siblings are playing Play Station and on their iPads. In Jeddah, some people are on spring break. I like my city because it is my home.


Going Fishing

By Sulma

When going to go fishing, you need a fishing pole, hooks, and bait. You need a container for fish, too. You need a fishing license, which is at Wal-Mart. Buy the bait at a gas station or at Wal-Mart, and go to the lake or river.

Put the bait on the hook and throw it into the water. Wait for the fish to catch the bait and check the hook. When you catch the fish, put it in the container with water.
If you do not have a pole, you can use a tree branch. If you do not have bait, you can use cookies or food. You can use a boat for catching big fish and swimming. Release the small fish because if you keep them, there will be no big fish.

